More Options

Welcome Back event kicks off new school year

Welcome Back event kicks off new school year
Posted on 08/31/2017

The 2017-18 school year officially launched yesterday morning with the annual Welcome Back event that highlights prior year successes and looks to the year ahead.

This year’s program motif was “You’re a Shining Star” and mixed motivation, inspiration and humor to showcase the idea that the purpose of education is to enable all of us to shine our own bright lights and to reveal the brightness shining within students.

One of the Rotary Teachers of the Year, Kim Price, delivered a short speech on her approach on building relationships with students that empower them to succeed. (Click here to read full remarks.)

Superintendent Maryalice Russell honored 20- and 25-year employees with service pins and recognized the work of elementary teachers who led classes to proficiency rates of 70 percent or above in E/LA, math and science, including

Katrina Amsberry, Keri Barton, Brenna Coad, Rebecca Duerr, Michelle Formway, Heather Freeman, Kelsey Freese, Beth Fuhrer, Alyssa Grant, Maggie Harlow, Jennifer Harmes, Olivia Heath, Sara Jacobs,

Sarah Karabinus, Maylyn Kunita, Larissa Leavitt, Julie Lockhart, Anne Massey, Kat McNeal, Amie McShane, Kathleen Mika, Emily Park, Kim Price, Erika Rada, Zealand Reynolds, Taylor Ryan, Mackenzie Smith, Trelawni Starkey, Jeff Strobel, Eric Svec, Melanie Turnbull, Taire Thomson, Morgana Willard and Kiana Young.

Employees with 25 years of service include Wendy Autencio, Nancy Duke, Sandi Hanes, Kristin Kraemer, Judy McClellan, Tony Soares, Jeffrey Strobel, Susan Stubberfield and Russell Weaver.

Employees with 20 years of service include Patricia Adams, Teresa Davis, Kathleen Espejo, Vicky Fairbanks, Brent Fodge, Nancy Franssen, Claudia Hamilton, Kelley Kennedy, Mary Beth Kramer, Brian Maselli, Greg McAnnally, Rob McCarroll, Dwight McFaddin, Angela Newport, Elena Larrea Riojas, Cecilia Rentsch, Julie Schaffner, Rosie Tanner and Kevin VanCleve.

Grandhaven, Memorial, Wascher and McMinnville High School were also recognized for exceeding state average student proficiency on the Smarter Balanced Assessments (SBAC).

Congratulations to the winner of the raffle for “Hamilton” musical tickets: Noah Wilson-Fey, RISE.  Winners of the “Hamilton” CD include Karry Walters, MHS; Charlotte Hendricks, Memorial; Michael Neeld, Patton; Scott Instenes, Patton; Norma Espana, Grandhaven; Christine Walker, MHS; Derek Van Sise, RISE; Sarah Schweiger, Wascher; Adam Gray, MHS; and Shauna Zavala, Wascher.

Click here for more about the Welcome Back.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.