More Options

Welcome Back 2018

New school year launches for staff with annual Welcome Back event
Posted on 08/29/2018

The 2018-19 school year officially launched today with the annual Welcome Back event that highlights past successes and maps a path for the year to come.

This year’s program themes was “Equity” and mixed motivation, inspiration and humor to showcase the idea that education works best when people work together and find common ground.

The 2017 Outstanding Educator of the Year, Kelly Carlson, delivered a short speech, “Many Hands” about how all staff —both teachers and support staff — contribute to the shared mission of education.   

Three guest speakers shared stories about the importance of students feeling connected to the school system including Cielo Tahmaseb, ELL teacher at Buel; Taghrid Elmeligui, Computer Science Pathway teacher at MHS; and Gustavo, a student preparing to graduate college through the Janus Youth Programs.

Superintendent Maryalice Russell honored 20-year-plus employees with service pins and recognized  Newby, Columbus, Duniway and Wascher for fostering a learning environment that resulted in the maximum growth in various student sub-groups on the SBAC assessments last year.

Service award recognitions include

20 years

Keith Bellwood, Janelle Carey, Marci Ingram, Jared Larson, Stephanie Legard, Jody Mechals, Rodney Minor, Karin Nichols, Sue Olsen, Beth Ann Pope, Jodi Vicknair and Aundrea Weise      

25 years

Cindy Almond, Cathie Auvinen, Tracy Brandt, Mark Bunker, Karen Drader, Julie Early, Sheila Elerath, Ron Farrow, Joyce Jensen-Gower, Gwen Silva, Annette Simonsen and Lance Trantham

30 years

Sharon Buehler, Steve Denney, Gloria Kemper, Kathryn Lundeen and Jeanne VanBuskirk

35 years

Rosemary Rice

The event also featured several video tributes to teachers from members of the Class of 2018.

Staff slide shows

Aug. 29, 2018

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.