More Options

District students compete in spelling bee championships

District students compete in spelling bee championships
Posted on 03/16/2018

The district championship Spelling Bee took place today with the top three students from every district school competing for top prize.

Winners in the elementary division include first place Owen James, Memorial; second place Jameson Rickards, Newby; and third place Arabelle Wolcott, Columbus.

Middle school division winners include Daphne Riddle, Duniway; second place Sierra Savage, Patton; and third place Jackson Stein, Patton. 

Top spellers from each school who competed in the district championship include:

Buel - Abby Magers (3rd) Matthew Clark (4th), Molly Swart (4th)

Columbus - Arabelle Wolcott (5th), Sage Parker (4th), Sofia Cruz-Orduna (4th)

Grandhaven - Natalie Zimmerling (5th), Jayson Teller (4th), Oliver Teller (3rd)

Memorial - Owen James (5th), Cash Anderson (5th), Nash Opitz (5th)

Newby - Jameson Rickards (5th), Moriah Kamph (5th), Adisyn Botten (5th)

Wascher - Gavin Folkert (4th), Tommy Frugia (4th), Tristan Ivy (5th)

Duniway - Daphne Riddle (8th), Mykah Felty (6th), Winfield Hall (8th)

Patton - Alex Johnson (8th), Sierra Savage (8th), Jackson Stein (6th)

The top three places in each division were awarded gift certificates for Third Street Books, and the first place winners will move on to the county spelling bee on April 10.

Congratulations, spellers!

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.