More Options


Paper Gardens winning entries announced
Posted on 04/29/2019

The following 24 students from the McMinnville School District will have their winning entries published in Paper Gardens 2019 anthology. The book will be released at a special celebration scheduled for 7 p.m., May 9, at the Chehalem Cultural Center in Newberg.  

Friends and family are invited to celebrate the accomplishments of 60 local writers from across Yamhill County as children, youth and adults share their work from the stage.

Each 2019 author will each receive a copy of the book, and copies will also be for sale that evening and at Chapters and Third Street Books.

This year, there were more than 435 prose and poetry entries with 25 schools participating. Dr. José Angel Araguz from Linfield College served as judge for the poetry entries, and Tracy Daugherty, Professor Emeritus at Oregon State University, judged the prose.

District winners include:

Sue Buel Elementary School

                Molly Swart

Grandhaven Elementary School

                Josiah Cummings (prose & poetry)

                Shannon Shaver

                Hunter Hurl        

                Caiden Webber

                Cooper Johns

Memorial Elementary School

              Bella Eberle

        Kaeden Chapman

        Addison Hall

        Ko Depweg

        Kieran Carpenter

        Oscar Marksbury Page

Duniway Middle School

                Walt Rosenberg

                Libby Hinds

                Rivers Goodman

                Momo Scarboro-Ford

 Patton Middle School

                Isaak Schuck

                Zenya Mode

                Alicia Beck

Sophia Dunckel

 McMinnville High School

                Jessica Jones

                Melea Wilder

                Zachary Reinker

                Eunice Nava

Paper Gardens, sponsored by the Arts Alliance of Yamhill County in partnership with the Chehalem Cultural Center, has been celebrating local writers for more than 25 years.                       


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.